Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory

Students

Prospective students

Dr. Kampf advises students in the MS Watershed Science program and the PhD Earth Sciences program.  Student projects typically involve some combination of field work and modeling related to process hydrology.  If you are interested in graduate study, please send me a detailed description of your research interests and career goals, resume, transcripts, and GRE scores.  Please see the recommended qualifications for our graduate programs on the program websites.  Students should also have course background in calculus, physics, and statistics.     

 

Current students

Caroline Martin

Alyssa Anenberg, MS candidate: Effects of snow persistence on soil water nitrogen

Email: alyssa.anenberg@colostate.edu

Office: NESB A108

 

 

 

 

 

Caroline Martin

Caroline Martin, MS candidate: Spatial and temporal variability in streamflow intermittence across an elevation gradient on the Colorado Front Range

Email: caroline.martin@colostate.edu

Office: NESB A115

 

 

 

John Hammond

John Hammond, PhD candidate: Effects of snow persistence on streamflow generation in mountain regions of the western U.S.

Email: john.christopher.hammond@gmail.com

Office: NESB A105

 

 

  

 

Chenchen Ma

Chenchen Ma, MS Candidate: Mountain temperature time series discontinuity and effects on streamflow prediction

Co-advisor: Steven Fassnacht

Office: NR315

  

 

 

 

Cody Wilson

Codie Wilson, PhD candidate, I-WATER program, Effects of post-fire mulching on runoff and sediment from hillslope to watershed scale

Email: codie.wilson@colostate.edu

Office: NESB A108

 

 

Former student theses/projects

Freddy Saavedra

 

Freddy Saavedra, PhD 2016: Spatial and temporal variability of snow cover in the Andes Mountains and its influence on streamflow in snow dominant rivers

Email: fspiment@rams.colostate.edu

Office: NESB A115

 

 

 

Adam Johnson

 

Adam Johnson, MS 2016: Snowmelt and rainfall runoff in burned and unburned catchments at the intermittent-persistent snow transition, Colorado Front Range. pdf

Current affiliation: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Klamath Falls

Email: agjohnson82@gmail.com

 

 

 

Cody Wilson

Joshua Faulconer, MS 2015:  Thresholds for runoff generation in ephemeral streams with varying morphology in the Sonoran Desert in Arizona, USA. pdf

Current affiliation: Project Scientist, TerranearPMC Llc, Los Alamos, NM

Email:  jfaulcon@rams.colostate.edu

 

 

Cody Wilson

Sarah Schmeer, MS 2014:  Post-fire erosion response and recovery, High Park Fire, Colorado. pdf

Email: sarah.schmeer@colostate.edu

  

 

 

 

 

Blaine Hastings

Blaine Hastings, MS 2012:  Comparison of digital terrain and field-based channel derivation methods in a subalpine catchment, Front Range, Colorado.  pdf

Current affiliation:  Hydrologist, Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation 

Email:  blaine.hastings@state.vt.us

   

 

 

 

Pedro Lopez

Pedro Lopez, MS 2012:  Investigation of sub-surface flow processes of a subalpine hillslope pdf

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cara Moore

Cara Moore, MS 2012:  A climatological study of snow covered areas in the Western United States. pdf

Current affiliation:  Tahoe Resource Conservation District 

Email:  cmoore@tahoercd.org

 

  

 

Eric Richer

Eric Richer, MS 2009:  Snowmelt runoff analysis and modeling for the Upper Cache la Poudre River basin, Colorado pdf

Current affiliation:  Aquatic Research Scientist – Hydrologist, Colorado Parks and Wildlife 

Email:  eric.richer@state.co.us